Advanced search

April 6, 2007

AdvsIt’s not entirely finished yet, but I’m really excited about this, so I’m making this feature available right away…

ADVANCED SEARCH

find it in the “browse” tab.

You can now search within a topic, and include terms that you want to NOT match (ie, exclude books that have this word). You can also display more search results per page, and easily restrict your search to books published in a country.

StopIn the “topic” pages you’ll now find a new “search this topic” button.

There are several more goodies for advanced search that will appear in the next few days — I still have several more days of work to do on it. I won’t pre-announce those features, I’ll just let you know when they’re available.

-john

7 Responses to “Advanced search”

  1. It is hard to tell what other improvements to searching are coming, but I hope that you address the two related problems that have always frustrated me at BookMooch:

    (1) The ability to search FOR the proper form of a topic in order to list the books it contains.

    (2) The ability to start looking in a long list (topics, lists of books by topic, anywhere else) somewhere lower in the alphabet (rather than always starting at “A” and having to page down hundreds of pages to get to where you want to start (or restart) scanning the list.

    The lack of these capabilities, given the long lists involved, give a severe “hit” disadvantage to any topic or book title that happens to begin with a letter toward the end of the alphabet.

  2. bookmooch said

    “The ability to search FOR the proper form of a topic in order to list the books it contains.”

    I’m not sure what you mean by that. You can currently “search inside a topic” as well search for the name of a topic, and show all the books in that topic.

    Agreed on point #2

  3. Debby said

    I’d like to be able to search the wishlists of people in my country. (maybe I have something they want.)

    Also, when I search for a book I’m interested in mooching, I’d like the option to list only books from people who are willing to ship to my country. It takes a lot of time to trawl through the results (many people will only ship to the US).

  4. Lili said

    The advanced search doesn’t appear to be working correctly. I tried searching for a single word with a few words in the “Not these words” field, and it was as if I hadn’t put anything in that field at all. I tried reducing it to a single word in the “Not these words” field, but that didn’t work any better.

  5. Lethe said

    I think the comment about “searching FOR the proper form of a topic” regards being able to search for a specific library cataloging subject term without interferance from other related terms. For example, if I want to search for “science” books, search seems to do a text match, and I get huge lists of “science fiction” books. However, my work-around for that is to bring up a book typical of the kind I know I want, and then looking at the list of topics, click on the one that is most pertinant.

    Just noticed some new idiosyncratic behavior today: if I enter “science” in the browse field, it tells me there are no books. But if I bring up a book by Feynman and then click on the science topic link, I get a decent list of available books.

  6. Caitlyn said

    Awesome! The one thing that would make the site perfect for me would be to browse the latest books posted by Country.
    I’d love love love to browse all of the latest books posted in Canada, for example.

  7. Suzanne said

    I’m not sure if this is a result of this new change, but if I search for (and this is the exact thing I search for) “The Brothers Karamazov” it comes to a page that says: No books were found for: “The Brothers Karamazov”

    But then, if I search for “Fyodor Dostoevsky” (the author) I come to a page full of books, including several copies of The Brothers Karamazov.

    But this is in the main search bar, at the top of the screen. Would that really be affected?

Leave a Reply

