BookMooch Lottery

July 15, 2007

Lottry
Mikko told me about this, the BookMooch lottry: half the points to go charity, and the other half goes to the lottery winners.

I think it’s amazing and great that new ideas pop up and just happen.

-john

From: http://www.bookmooch.com/m/bio/lottery

The BookMooch lottery!

To participate, use charity to give this account (“lottery”) at least one point. Each point buys you one ticket, so with more tickets your chances to win will improve.

Half of the points will be distributed to charities. When sending your points, name a charity. Each ticket you buy is a vote for that charity, and the points the lottery produces will go to the charity with most votes.

Half of the points is distributed to the lucky winners. The amount of winners and size of the prizes depends on the amount of participants. However, we aim for several smaller prizes instead of one large jackpot.

The lottery ends August 15th. I will then decide the prizes and choose the winners randomly. Good luck for all participants!

BookMooch Lottery was the idea of Matt. I’m giving him one free ticket for his idea. If you want to thank him, go check his inventory, maybe you’ll find something to mooch there!

3 Responses to “BookMooch Lottery”

  1. Cathy Snyder said

    I don’t know that I understand this, but it sounds like something I’d like to do as right now I don’t need any books. Please check out my account, and let me know if I can choose my charity and how it translates into funds.
    cj snyder
    ccjsnyder@aol.com

  2. Amanda Connor said

    AAARGH! The note says it ends August 15th (today) but when I check the page it says it is already over.

    Any plans on another lottery soon?

  3. Janice said

    When’s the next one?

Leave a Reply

