BookMooch is down for a day or two

September 12, 2007

Sick As A Dog Hc
Sorry folks, but the BookMooch database has gotten corrupted and that means BookMooch can’t run.

I have a backup from yesterday, but that has some corruption too (sigh). And yet another backup from 5 days ago also has corruption. One of those days…

So… I need to shut BookMooch down for a day or two, get the data onto my computer, and write some programs to piece all the data back together from the various backups I have.

That means no BookMooch for a day or two, maybe even three, depending on how hard this is.

I’ve been working on this non-stop for 8 hours, and my head is about to explode from stress, so I’m taking 2h off for dinner, and I’ll back on this right away.

A million mooch apologies!

-john

13 Responses to “BookMooch is down for a day or two”

  1. alina said

    Feel better, John! And thanks so much for all the hours you’re putting into this project.

  2. Trochee said

    Good luck. I think I watched this go wrong yesterday. Sending good thoughts towards the moochatron.

  3. shanek54 said

    Hi John,
    Take it easy, John. I am sure the users of this great *free* service will not be pressuring you into hurrying because that would lead to another delay down the line if the underlying corruption problem was not fixed.
    As one who works in IT support you have my sympathy.

  4. opus17 said

    So sorry there are all these problems. I will have serious withdrawal symptoms, but I suspect your pains will be worse than mine. I’ve been quietly mooching around for a while now without leaving any comments, but now I simply MUST. Keep up the great work! I really enjoy being part of the “mooch-ciety” and see many advantages over, say, PBS, who have really irritated me with the secrecy and unavailability of information. If there is anything I can do, let me know, even if you need a few people to begin banging on the system before you “open” it up again to large numbers.

    Thanks for everything. We’ll survive, although it will be difficult for those of us that are addicted and obsessed.
    Britta

  5. jeri said

    Thanks for all of your hard work John.

  6. Heather said

    *sends calming vibes* Take it easy, we know not to blame you, and it’s not the end of the world…. technically, this downtime means that I can give my eyes a rest from the computer. lol

    I’ll have withdrawls, and I was very annoyed when I found out, but that’s only because I love this site soooo much and it’s become my newest passion. Which means that you all must be doing something right!

  7. Rabidpotatochip said

    Oh man, that sucks…

    Is it possible to extract a semi-correct duplicate of the database from the backups, or is it looking like a complete rollback?

    Whatever happens, don’t stress more than you have to. The only thing computers do reliably is break. 😉

  8. linkmeister said

    Bleah. Take your painkiller of choice, sleep, and start over next day.

  9. gemmas said

    Bugger. This is such a fantastic service and we thank you for all that you do. Keep up the great work, we really do appreaciate it.

  10. Ray Feather said

    Good luck with the superb work you done. Best wishes.

  11. tipsymacaroni said

    Yeah. What everybody else said. Glad to know this was (somewhat) planned. I am also going thru w/d symptoms! Taks deep breath and relax – you’ll survive and so will we!

  12. Dale said

    Glad I was given the link to this blog! Now that I know what is happening I can be patient. The last time I was able to log on I found 2/3 of my wishlist missing. Looking forward to brighter days when this great site is back up again. Thanks for making such a wonderful site!

  13. Marcie said

    Ditto to all the other comments thanking you for all your hard work. Thank you! thank you !thank you! Mild withdrawl symtoms are such a small price to pay for such an awesome and FREE service. Keep up the good work. This moocher thanks you from the bottom of my bookwormy heart!

Leave a Reply

