Away for a month

November 23, 2007

Tomorrow morning, I fly out of London and go back to my other home in California.

I’m moving home in 10 days, from Berkeley, California to San Rafael, California; from a suburban University town (Berkeley) to the middle of a state park. My plan is to spend half my time living in the hectic-but-amazing centre (note British spelling (grin)) of London, and then chill out until I nearly go comatose with lack of stimulation in the center (note American spelling) of a huge natural park.

What this means for BookMooch is that I’ll be on vacation from programming for about a month. No new features or changes, and the half-dozen or so small bugs outstanding will need to wait until the end of December. On the positive side, it means a month free of John-screwing-things-up, which I’m sure many of you will be grateful for.

I’ve actually been on a BookMooch holiday for the past 10 days, acting as a recording engineer for two different CDs, one of the JS Bach Sonatas for Violin and Harpsichord, and another of 19th century Fortepiano and Natural Horn (played by my friend Anneke Scott) including a drop-dead-gorgeous piece by the incredibly obscure composer “von Krufft”. Both will be on Magnatune in 6 months to a year (it takes a long time to finish a recording).


Personal Blog

If you’re interested in reading about my life outside of BookMooch (yes, it’s true, I occasionally do have a life outside of BookMooch), my wife keeps a great Blog of our life, at:

http://london.redmood.com/

19 Responses to “Away for a month”

  1. Zillah said

    Have a well deserved break John!

  2. Patricia said

    Happy holidays, John. Enjoy your vacation! 🙂

  3. Ed said

    Happy holidays!

    Someone going to be around to watch the web server and fix any random bugs that crop up?

    Merci beaucoup!

  4. Jimmy said

    The web site will be good I know. We’ll all be winers in the end.

  5. Hope said

    Have a great time!

  6. Adryen said

    I used to live in San Rafael – on Huckleberry Road! It is beautiful! Have a good break and enjoy the holidays!

  7. Marianne said

    No-one deserves to be able to relax more than you do, John, but I imagine that won’t really happen until well AFTER the move. Hope it all goes well. Maybe eventually you will have some time to read books…..

  8. vince connor said

    Sounds idyllic and you need a well deserved rest so take your time

  9. barbara j. rios said

    John: You should try and retrieve my grandmotherly advice about simplifying your life and your endless attempts to “improve” BookMooch. I left the message someplace while you were tearing your hair out trying to fix things. Don’t worry about the time out. The moochers all have plenty to read while you are resting.

  10. Heather19 said

    Happy holidays and happy moving, John! You definitely deserve a break! Thank you for everything you do around here, it is mucho appreciated!

  11. Brian said

    Have a great holiday! Perhaps you should think about picking up a hobby 🙂

  12. Julie said

    Hope you and your family havea blessed holiday season!

  13. Christina said

    You deserve a longer vacation than that!

    Enjoy your holiday!

  14. Trish said

    Hope you are having a great vacation and wonderful holiday season. Thank you so much for all that you do. BookMooch rocks!!! 🙂

  15. Rob said

    Have a good holiday and thanks again for all your hard work and dedication to “our” community!

    Rob

  16. Penny said

    Enjoy! Your well deserved break. Once again you’ve done awesome with book mooch!!!!!!!!

  17. Nicole said

    Everyone deserves a break! Have fun. 🙂

  18. Eugenia said

    John, I just wanted to tell you how grateful I am for BookMooch. Enjoy your well-earned break.

    You’ve literally changed my life–last winter I was homebound with no new books, and voila! This year, I’ve got scads of great reading.

    Plus, and a huge benefit, is that interactions with the wonderful BookMooch members has restored my confidence and ability to cope. It’s heartening to me when people enjoy the books I send them! And so many great folks have shared theirs with me.

    Thank you, and I wish you and your family a very happy holiday season and New Year. You have no idea of the difference you’ve made!

Leave a Reply

