Drowning in mooch love

February 22, 2009

I checked my postal mailbox today, and found 32 donation checks waiting. Wow!

Even better, a lot of them included fantastic and cute little notes. I thought I’d share some of them (this is just a small sample).

What a great sunday: I’m in a super-good mood from all this happy, happy love!

-john

D1B

D4

D5

D3

D2

16 Responses to “Drowning in mooch love”

  1. Nicole said

    That is so great! Just shows what a great community of people bookmooch has brought together.

    Another week (pay day) and mine will be in the mail as well.

  2. Teresa said

    I have not been a member for long, 2 of my daughters and I love to read and when the youngest one went off to college last year her college expenses started cutting into the budget badly. I have been able to exchange quite a few books for new ones. Thanks alot, I have set up a $5 a month through paypal, sorry it could be more maybe.
    Thanks Again for bookmooch
    Teresa

  3. tseen said

    Hi John – I signed up to “give a little” the other day and didn’t get a chance to write a short note! Thusly, here it is: Have been on bookmooch barely a year and love it. Have converted a few others, too. Hope to see it go from strength to strength!

  4. kylie said

    being on a disability pension makes it very hard to afford ‘little luxuries’, and i LOVE doing some of the online courses available to keep my brain busy and learn new things. so how to afford the textbooks and do research when my local library is rather pitiful??
    BOOKMOOCH!!!!!!!!!!
    thank you sooooo much for providing the site and all of your hard work. the only problem is, it is so hard to find books i want to give away. i want to keep them all ?

  5. Rachel said

    Hello and hugs to Brady!

    ~from the pooch who loves to mooch

    pictured here:
    http://bookmooch.com/m/bio/rachelaine

  6. These notes are so wonderful! Thanks for spreading the moochlove. 🙂

    Elizabeth

  7. Debbie said

    I was happy to sign up for $US5 per month – wish I could do more. This is the first time in my life I have had so many books to be read – I feel so rich I was happy to share! Reading is my love so the books are great but the contact with other passionate readers was an unexpected bonus. Keep up the good work John – it is a wonderful thing that you are doing! 😉

  8. Kate Olson said

    Just wanted to say how much i love bookmooch – I just joined on Friday and am already smitten! I learned about the site from the latest Oprah magazine, what awesome publicity for you 🙂 I’ll be surely signing up to donate – right now I’m so busy packing up books to send that I haven’t had time. Later today, though 🙂

  9. CarrieO said

    John:

    I became a member last summer when a librarian friend of mine gave me the info. I thought, “it’s too good to be true…what’s the catch?” Suprising and wonderful to find something REALLY free! Even better, I was able to find good homes for books I loved but would probably never read again. And even more better, I found books I wanted to read but probably would have never purchased. Such treasures! I just signed up to “give a little” each month, and am so happy to see that this campaign has been successful for you. Bravo!

  10. ada hall said

    thanks for the opportunity to give and receive books that I love so much.. keep up the good work..

  11. Charrie said

    I am thrilled to see that you are “drowning” in love!!! I hope it keeps up! LOL

  12. Zjanette said

    BM is the greatest place on earth. I had two books I knew people would love and had choose between putting them on BM or selling them in my bookshop.
    Of course I put them on BM and they where mooched within a minute.
    It feels so good to make people happy and BM is all about making people happy.
    Thank you so much.

  13. Emily said

    Hi John, I have a suggestion (sorry if this is a bad place to put it). I frequently get notices that a book on my wishlist is available, only to discover once I’ve clicked through that it is, in fact, reserved for someone else and not available to me. Is it possible to change the notification process, so that books listed and immediately reserved are not included in the “book available” notices? It would save lots of disappointment. 🙂
    Thanks!
    Emily

  14. Eva Marie said

    I absolutely LOVE seeing those little notes- it really does help to show what the average person on BM is like. I’m so happy you post those John!

  15. Donna said

    Hi John,

    Thanks for posting your “love” notes, it just proves to me that joining BookMooch was a wise decision! I love that you are willing to take on this service for all of us who love books.

    I made a little donation through PayPal… I wish it could be more!

    Thank you!

  16. brusselsbook said

    Would there be a possibility to give a donation per creditcard? I can only find the possibility to give something per month, using my creditcard, but what about a one-time donation? Thank you in advance! And thank you for bookmooch. I find it so wonderful what you do!

Leave a Reply

