Amazon searching in BM unavailable for a day or two

August 18, 2009

Amazonsad
Searching Amazon inside BookMooch isn’t working at the moment, and it’ll probably take me a day or two to get it working again.

The reason is that Amazon has added an extra encryption/authentication step to its programming API, and BookMooch needs to support it.

Amazon did send email newsletters warning about the change, but they kept referring to their “Product Advertising API”, which isn’t something I thought I used. However, apparently the “Product Advertising API” is Amazon’s new name for “Amazon Web Services”, and it really is what BookMooch uses. Whoops, sorry!

I’m sure I can get this working, but it has some complicated bits to it, so it might take me 48 hours to get it right.

-john

35 Responses to “Amazon searching in BM unavailable for a day or two”

  1. bgmeyer said

    I am not angry, but I will be glad to have it back. It really helps a lot! Glad you let us know about it.
    Barb.

  2. Lethe said

    Great photo!

    I wonder if they have improved the stream of book topics they are producing?

    Thanks as always for all you work on this great site!

  3. juliea said

    Yikes, sorry to hear it’ll take you some time to do it. Thanks for making such a great site!

    p.s. Awesome picture! 🙂

  4. des said

    you look SO CUTE in the box!

  5. Margaret said

    Actually, Amazon is working slowly and strangely today anyway. Might be the new changes.

  6. AndreaC said

    Thanks for the heads-up. Love the pic! 🙂

  7. sherby57 said

    It’s almost as though they don’t want to sell any books!

  8. omkar said

    ah thanks.
    i am a new member.and really i was having a tough time hand enetering all the books.
    well i guess i will wait for a few days for the search option to get back on track.
    cheers.

  9. Dagmoon said

    Thanks for letting us know. And extra extra thanks for working to get it going again.

  10. Heather19 said

    Love the photo!

    Thanks for the blog post, it’s definitely comforting to know that you are aware of the problem and are working on it.

  11. rachelsmdai said

    Great shirt! GGGOOOOOOO BOSOX!

  12. Sophie said

    Dear John,
    Thanks for doing all this for us! I’m a new member. Good luck with the changes.
    Cheers,
    Sophie.

  13. Suzanne said

    Even without amazon, you can easily add books that are on someone’s wishlist by searching for them using BookMooch’s Advanced Search then clicking the “Show Unmoochable” button at the top. It will let you select the book so that you can Give Your Copy.

    (I mention this because I hadn’t realized it myself until a bookmooch admin clued me in, although back then the button was labeled Show All…)

  14. Noddy said

    Lol at your pic. For a moment I thought the box was floating on air.

    …then I scrolled down. 😀

    Oooh, are the programmer/ IT guy for the website? I have recently joined and wow. Your website is amazing.
    Did you make this up yourself? The whole idea?

    You must be quite busy with everything if you run this ALL by yourself.

    Wow. Me: Amazingly impressed.

    Dahaba x

  15. Dave said

    Not sure if you are interested in pursuing, but Ive done years of PHP MySQL development and it wouldnt be too difficult to put together a backend for your own books. Populating it would take a little time, but you may be able to offer an incentive .05 points for book additions, reviews, etc. Scan covers, proof entries, etc. Let me know if you are interested and I can help put together a db schema with you.
    An advantage would be to normalize so that a book can have multiple ISBNs bujt still link to the one book/review.

  16. erwin mcgee said

    I’ve been hand entering and actually prefer it. It’s certainly more accurate. Since I mainly do classics and nonfiction, I don’t have to scroll forever (with Amazon classic titles) or get stuck with their weird “topics” (with nonfiction). I can put in the correct topics. Amazon ISBNs are a very iffy proposition.

  17. erwin mcgee said

    I do miss Amazon for the browse feature when I want to add to my wishlist however.

  18. Evelyn MacPhee said

    The box becomes you. 😉

    Thank you for all the work you do for us bookmoochers.

    I appreciate being told what is going on.

    All the best to you,

    Evy

  19. I don’t care what is going on. I know little about the ins and outs of your systems. ( I am 82) But do know that I am getting books that i’ve wanted to read for a coon’s age. Keep up the marvelous work!

  20. Araceli (arabd) said

    Don’t worry. Please, take the time you need and thank you for alerting. Bookmooch is a great site!

  21. Cynthia said

    It was working for me late last night, but only with ISBN numbers, which I did have.

    Thanks John, for your efforts.

  22. Nancy said

    Thanks for letting us know what is going on. I too miss the feature for my wishlist but I know you will fix it asap.
    Nancy

  23. Kevin O'Leary said

    Thank you! I appreciate this site sooooooo much.

  24. Carolyn said

    Thanks for all of your hard work! I’m relatively new to BookMooch and absolutely love it.

  25. ginette blondel said

    Bonjour ,
    En espérant que le problême sera rapidement réglé
    car cette fonction manque terriblement
    Bonne journée à vous
    Ginette

  26. Jen Hansen said

    Thanks for all you do to make BookMooch such a fun and valuable tool for all of us! You are the best John!

  27. Elizabeth Cooley said

    Thanks for your efforts. Of sourse, I fumbled through trying to add three books before it registered!!

  28. Evelyn said

    Thanks for letting us know and for your continued great work on this site 🙂

  29. Marinda Sherman said

    I added several books using the ISBN number and had no problems at all, check on the back cover for an easy to read ISBN and keep on adding to the inventory.
    Have a great weekend.

  30. mariahj said

    I added books to inventory with by isbn with no problems at all on 08/20.

    The moochbar was not working at all on 08/21 when I attempted to use it. It came up with all blank information.

  31. erwin mcgee said

    The new announcement should have a happy face. The marketing division is letting you down.

  32. Will said

    Great to have this back. BUT, the wishlists still keep returning numerous blank items as “Related Editions”, something which has been happening for over a year.

  33. John, that’s been a tough ordeal last week with us for Bookswim.com. We spent a day rattling our heads over the API issue.

    -George

Leave a Reply

