Bio photos now zoomable

October 19, 2009

Any place you see a bio photo, such as on Mark’s page, you can now click on the small photo:

Markwp-Bio

and you’ll see a much larger version of their photo:

Markwp-Bio2

the zoomed image shown can only be large as the source image was: if the person uploaded only a small photo of themselves (example), the zoom will show a small version too. However, lots of people (example) uploaded large photos of themselves, so that’s what you can now see.

I know this is just a small tweak: I’ve started work on having BM host book-cover images itself, rather than pointing to Amazon, and the work to make this bio-photo-zoom feature work was also needed to make book covers zoomable too. Amazon supplies book covers zoomed down to all sorts of different sizes, and I’d like to be able to display them at sizes I want, so that I could do (for example) a clean looking “browse-books-by-covers” feature.

-john

12 Responses to “Bio photos now zoomable”

  1. Mark Williams said

    That’s Jack Kerouac btw.

    He’s just a touch more handsome than I ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Jenna said

    Nice feature!

    However, now when I delete a photo and add a new one, it is the old photo that is cached and zoomable, although the new photo displays in miniature on my member page. I just cannot delete the old image no matter what I do.

  3. Jenna: thanks for pointing out that bug. It should be fixed now.

    -john

  4. Dovile said

    Cool! I’m also looking forward to the book-cover-hosting feature you’ve mentioned. If BM will host book covers, will it also be possible for us to upload them? There are loads of books without cover pics, but uploading covers to BM would probably mean using a lot more space on BM severs.

  5. francophile said

    Hi John
    Great tweak…but would love some news on improvement on “sort” facilities on some of the list pages on your great site, e.g. “Top Books”?

  6. Cyndi said

    Thanks again for all the tweaking you do to just make book mooch better and better! I love this site!

  7. re: “If BM will host book covers, will it also be possible for us to upload them? There are loads of books without cover pics, but uploading covers to BM would probably mean using a lot more space on BM severs.”

    Yes, the idea would be that BM could fetch book covers from lots of sources, and use the one that is the highest quality. And, if not cover exists, people can upload their own.

    As to disk space, I did a quick back-of-the-envelope calculation, and I think I need on the order of 200gigs to 500gigs to store book covers for most of BM, so that should be very doable.

    -john

  8. Jennifer said

    I seem to be having the reverse problem that Jenna was having.

    I uploaded a new picture and deleted the old one but the old picture still appears in miniature on my bio page. When you zoom in, however, the new picture shows up. Strange stuff?

  9. re: “I seem to be having the reverse problem that Jenna was having. ”

    That can happen with browser caches. Try quiting your browser and reloading the page, that should fix it.

    -john

  10. Meghan said

    Since you guys are talking about new additions to the website, I thought it might be the appropriate time to mention some suggestions I had for bookmooch. For instance, I would like to be able to see what books are NEW on bookmooch, or newly added. So maybe having a section called “books posted today.” Also, I have a hard time finding books that I am looking for or interested in, and maybe it’s just that they aren’t listed on here. But I thought maybe a tag cloud would be a good idea. You know, a page that shows tags that you would use for your books, and next to those tags it will show a number which represents the number of members who have tagged their books with that word. It’s just a thought.

Leave a Reply

