My holiday wish: help out the EFF

December 22, 2009

Screen Shot 2009-12-22 At 10.52.52 Am
If the thought you’ve been having lately has been “Gosh, how I can thank John Buckman for running BookMooch?” then I have a solution for you!

I’m on the board of a charity called the Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF). They’re a civil-rights-for-the-digital-age organization, and do a lot of work that’s very, very relevant to BookMooch. Further in this blog entry, I give a few examples of the kinds of good works they do.

So … for every $10 you commit to giving to the EFF, I’ll give you one of my mooch points, which you can redeem to get one book for free on BookMooch.

These are my personal points, which I’ve gained from giving away 1381 books from my home. If you join as a member, I’ll give you one year’s equivalent (i.e. one year at $10/month = 12 book points).

Here are some books & reading-related topics they’re active in:

1) the EFF has defended the “first sale doctrine” in court. The is the fundamental legal right without which BookMooch could not exist. It’s the simple idea that “once you buy something, you’re allowed to give or sell it to someone else”.

2) A few days ago, the EFF came out with a guide to the various E-Book standards and what rights and privacy is provided with each.

3) Free press – large companies have been arguing that writing on the Internet shouldn’t have the same freedoms and privacy as traditional (print press). This is a busy topic for the EFF, as it’s constantly being attacked

and way, way more…

Once you’ve made your gift to the EFF, email me a copy of the receipt you get, as well as your BookMooch user name.

Thanks!

-john

ps: I tried this same idea two years ago, and it worked out really well.

15 Responses to “My holiday wish: help out the EFF”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by ozgur, Turgay Megrel. Turgay Megrel said: My holiday wish: help out the EFF – If the thought you’ve been having lately has been “Gosh, how I can th… http://su.pr/5YtDCn […]

  2. Molly said

    John, This a great idea. I will definitely make a donation, and don’t need any points for an incentive. In fact, if you run out of points, you are welcome to give away most of mine. Cheers!

  3. Sally C said

    John, this is a great idea and I will certainly give some money – thanks for bringing it to my attention. However, I won’t be looking for mooch points. I already have more than 60, from sending books overseas and not having many people in other countries reciprocate.

    Sally (giving but not receiving)

  4. Nolly said

    I was a lot more inclined to support them before they started publishing FUD-generators like the one linked here: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/boingboing/gadgets/~3/kfYErsYUgvg/effs-ebook-buyers-gu.html

    If you actually read the descriptions, I can see no privacy difference between the Nook and the Sony readers, yet nearly identical functionality — “only tracked on their site/if in the loyalty program” — is flagged as a privacy issue for the Nook, and not for the eReader. In fact, it looks like the Sony store is keeping _more_ purchase history than B&N, but Sony is OK, and B&N isn’t?

  5. Nolly said

    In addition to the problems with the eBook reader chart, their recent article on FB privacy had factual errors. But with no mechanism to comment on articles, there no way to publicly correct them.

  6. Hercules40 said

    John,

    I will very much like to participate. But here is my wish: I admire the EFF. I admire what they do. Not only will I donate money, but, I will like to donate many, MANY of my points to you for this effort. I think I will match your points, if there is a way to it — so for every point you give out for a donation, I can match a point,

    OR

    I can give you my points, if that’s more appropriate, so that you’d have more points to donate.

    Please let me know HOW I can help you.

  7. […] Give to EFF This Holiday Season and Receive Free BookMooch Points December 22, 2009 By phil This holiday season, for every $10 you donate to EFF, you can receive one BookMooch point, worth one free book of your choice, from BookMooch founder and EFF board member John Buckman! Just email the receipt of your donation to john@bookmooch.com to redeem your free BookMooch points. (You can find John Buckman’s official announcement on the Bookmooch blog.) […]

  8. Nolly said

    Since it appears no one is actually processing comments that trigger moderation, I’m re-posting my first comment without the link, which I assume is the problem.

    I was a lot more inclined to support them before they started publishing FUD-generators like the eBook buyers guide — which is about readers, not formats. See the discussion on BoingBoing Gadgets for more — I’m not the only one who has an issue with it.

    If you actually read the descriptions, I can see no privacy difference between the Nook and the Sony readers, yet nearly identical functionality — “only tracked on their site/if in the loyalty program” — is flagged as a privacy issue for the Nook, and not for the eReader. In fact, it looks like the Sony store is keeping _more_ purchase history than B&N, but Sony is OK, and B&N isn’t?

  9. Can you use some book points for this purpose? I have more than I have been able tot use.

  10. re: giving points to the EFF

    I’m trying to figure out a way that the EFF could benefit from BM points and there are a few possibilities, but not yet.

    I do have something in progress where the Internet Archive’s book scanning project could use points, and that’s something I’m working to put together too (different charity, though!)

    -john

  11. re: “Since it appears no one is actually processing comments that trigger moderation, I’m re-posting my first comment without the link, which I assume is the problem.”

    Actually, all your comments have come through. It’s just that it’s xmas & holiday time, and I was (gasp!) away from my computer for two days, so that’s why your comments took a bit of time to get through.

    At any rate, debate is good, and it’s not a bad thing that you have a bone to pick with how they reviewed e-book readers.

    As it happens, I got an email this morning from someone at the EFF telling me they were looking into the points you made. So yeah, they actually read your critique and took it seriously.

    -john

    • nolly said

      Apologies; after nearly 24 hours, my first comment still showed as “awaiting moderation”, and I felt my second one didn’t make much sense without the first one; the comments that did not contain URLs appeared immediately.

      I’m glad to hear that the concerns about the chart are being taken seriously; the BB comments show it’s not just me who sees a problem.

  12. Lisa said

    Well, I didn’t send them any cash yet, but I did become an EFF fan on FB to help spread the word. This probably doesn’t quite qualify as a holiday gift, but maybe it can be a little stocking stuffer :0). Thanks again, John, for everything you do to keep improving Bookmooch–this site and the books I’ve obtained from my fellow moochers have brought me much joy throughout the year. Here’s to more good reading in 2010!

  13. Holly said

    I’ve read all the comments. I will seriously think about joining EFF, but I would like to see any issues resolved satisfactorily before I donate. The internet can be a very scary place, sometimes, especially if/when there are scam artists “in” there as well.
    That being said, I really like what I read regarding the purpose of the EFF. More power to them!

    • Nolly said

      As the person who raised concerns here, allow me to say they are absolutely not a scam. The EFF has done quite a lot of very important work in the past, and I expect will continue to do so into the future. I have been concerned by what I perceive as excessive or inappropriate spin in some recent articles put forth, but that’s a matter of what communication style is most effective. My concerns are along the lines of “Yes, we should be careful of that animal, but is that really a wolf, or just a large and vicious dog?”, rather than “There’s no danger here, what are you shouting about?” I hope that analogy makes sense.

Leave a Reply

