BookMooch now in Swedish

January 28, 2010

Sweden-Resize-250-
The BookMooch web site is now available in Swedish at: http://se.bookmooch.com

My plan is to have the BookMooch web site available in lots of other languages… once I replace the Amazon.com book database use by BookMooch with a better and more international one. My intent is to add the OCLC, LibraryThing and OpenLibrary databases as sources of book information to BookMooch. I have agreements already in place with OCLC and OpenLibrary to do this.

Once I have a better and more international database in place, not only will we have much better “meta-information” about our books (including English ones) but it’ll be easy to add books from other languages as well, since BookMooch will know about them. The OCLC database in particular, is strong on Scandinavian books, as they tie into their excellent library system database.


The reason I did Swedish right away is that professional translator and fellow moocher Susanne Andersson had a free week between jobs and offered to do it right away.

It’s a huge amount of work (the BookMooch web site is big!), and she did it quickly and was a pleasure to work with. I’m including her business card here to thank her (hint, hint, if anyone needs to translate something into Swedish)

Susanne says that she’d be happy to supervise any translation of documents she didn’t get to, She’d also like to correspond with any other Swedes doing corrections of the translation, so that the same terminology is used throughout.

Susanne Translation 2

11 Responses to “BookMooch now in Swedish”

  1. Markus Amalthea Magnuson said

    Unfortunately, a lot of pages are now a mix of Swedish and English content, how would I go about making any changes? I’d love to help out with translation and proofreading, have quite some experience from translating software for many years.

    I think some of the translated words are a bit too “written” in a sense, for example “Förteckning” has an almost bureaucratic feel too it. I’d rather use “Samling” or “Boksamling” or similar in this particular case.

    Anyway, I have many more comments, but maybe I should have this conversation with Susanne instead 🙂

  2. Markus Amalthea Magnuson said

    Also, Swedish does not show up in the list of languages at the bottom of the front page.

  3. Susanne Andersson said

    Hi Markus,

    Thank you for your comments.

    Please do not hesitate to contact me, my e-mail address is susanne.v.andersson@gmail.com, if you have any questions or comments regarding my translation. Even though I have worked in this field for more than ten years now, I am sure there are some things that can be improved. Then I will also be able to explain to you why I have chosen the terminology that is now used on the Swedish version of BookMooch.

    Kind regards,

    Susanne

  4. Susanne Andersson said

    And it is correct that the Swedish version is not 100 % ready yet, this is something I do for free, when I have the extra time, please do not hesitate to continue my work.

    Kind regards,

    Susanne

  5. Swedish does not show up in the list of languages at the bottom of the front page.

    If you go to:
    http://bookmooch.com/

    at the bottom right you’ll see “Svenska”

    Unfortunately, a lot of pages are now a mix of Swedish and English content, how would I go about making any changes?

    At the bottom of every page, you’ll see a link to correct the translation ([Korrigera översättningen]) and you fix it right on the spot. It’s especially helpful if you translate the bits that are still in English.

    Thanks and I hope that answers your questions!

    -john

  6. ary29 said

    Tusen tack Susanna! It’s also a great news for the Italian BM community that a change from the Amazon database is coming. Amazon doesn’t deal with Italian books, so we need to manually enter most of them, and this is a huge disincentive for a lot of potential users.

  7. lucci said

    Thanks John for thinking about alternative databases for bookmooch! With regard to italian books I can confirm what ary29 said.

  8. […] Bookmooch now speaks Swedish. If it learns Norwegian will it speak Bokmål or Nynorsk? […]

  9. Job said

    Awesome! Although, a far better improvement for the Swedish booksharing community would be adding the Libris catalogue; see http://librishelp.libris.kb.se/help/xsearch_eng.jsp?redirected=true&language=en

  10. Michelle F. said

    Hope you’ll still have the Amazon link available when you change databases. I find it very useful, especially when searching for books to add to my wishlist and reading an excerpt to see if I really want the book.

  11. […] något som förut var förbehållet framför allt amerikanska böcker. Dessutom pågår en översättning av själva webbplatsen till svenska, vilken tyvärr är i ett halvfärdigt tillstånd just nu. Antingen använder man den […]

Leave a Reply

