Give someone a smooch!

August 30, 2007

After much discussion on a previous blog entry, the “secret admirer” idea has emerged on BookMooch as the “give someone an anonymous smooch” feature.

This new feature is now available on BookMooch, and you’ll see a “smooch” button in the “bio” page for each member (on the top right, near the “report abuse” button).

Once you click the “smooch” button, you get a form which explains the feature a bit more, and gives you the opportunity to leave a note:

Smooc1

The confirmation page tells you what your note was, and that the email notification was successfully sent to them.

Smooch2

The anonymous smooches are nonetheless part of their “public record”, right under their feedback.

Smooch3

and anyone can see the date, and the note that was left, but not who gave the smooch.

Smooch4

The smooch does appear in the points log for both the giver and the recipient, so there is a little bit of a hint there, but I think this is important, so that people can see how their point scores are working.

Smooch5

Finally, the recipient gets a notification email from the BookMooch system, with the giver’s note, and a short explanation:

Smooch6

I’ll happily entertain rewrites of any of the text above, to make it cuter/friendlier/clearer.

19 Responses to “Give someone a smooch!”

  1. Greg said

    Handy. If you mouse over the ‘Smooch’ button you get the message ‘IIf you …’

  2. Peggy T said

    Perfect name!!
    I can’t wait to use this feature.
    Who came up with ithe name?
    Much better than Secret Admirer.

    one suggestion:
    “…thank you for being a great person….”

    maybe instead: .”..show their thanks to you for being a great BookMoocher…”

    The change would make it less personal, but I don’t think that is a bad thing.

    Peggy T

  3. Jenny said

    Since joining Bookmooch I am overwhelmed at the generosity and friendliness of the people I have met. This is such a great idea to introduce *smooching* and a way to say thanks.

  4. Jeannie Howard said

    I love it! can’t wait to use it. there are so many on here deserving of a smooch!

  5. Tasha said

    I like this idea, i know a few people who deserve to get a gift for sending me really heavy books when they didn’t have to. Thanks!

  6. Kat (zzzkatzzzz) said

    i still think it alienates those who can not afford to give a whole point.

    this means that many who deserve to get a smooch (love the name btw) will not be recognized.

    Kat
    zzzkatzzzz

  7. Marianne said

    I think this is a GREAT idea and I LOVE the name! I didn’t see anything about limiting how many smooches you can give a person and I think that’s a good thing too. If people consistently do wonderful things, they deserve to be rewarded.

    I LOVE Bookmooch!
    Marianne
    Gentlewoman

  8. I didn’t see anything about limiting how many smooches you can give a person and I think that’s a good thing too. If people consistently do wonderful things, they deserve to be rewarded.

    In the end, I decided against limiting it. Since charitable giving is not limited, I didn’t see the logic in limiting smooching. And besides, this keeps it simple.

    i still think it alienates those who can not afford to give a whole point.

    I wanted to make a smooch really mean something, and keep it simple as well, so it’s always one point.

    If you mouse over the ‘Smooch’ button you get the message ‘IIf you …’

    Thanks, will fix that typo…

    -john

  9. Sue said

    I think this is a great way to show how we appreciate our moochers. Thanks.

  10. Marcie said

    How wonderful that this option is ready to use! I already have a few people in mind whom have earned smooches from me. And the name…. Well I think it’s perfect. Now we can mooch and smooch!

  11. Driver B said

    I love this! Stumbled on it be accident today when a friend of mine who just moved away to grad school joined Bookmooch. I was able to smooch her and help get her account off to a good start. Thanks!

  12. Bob Gable said

    Yes, again, nice implementation of a nice idea. “Mooch and smooch” is clever. Subsequent data will tell if men hesitate to figuratively smooch other men.

  13. shan said

    nice cute idea. Not so mushy as secret admirer I like it much better. Will use this tool soon.

  14. […] 2nd, 2007 I’ve been giving some thought to how the newly-added “give a smooch” feature would actually get used in the real world, and I think that perhaps I made a mistake […]

  15. Equiano said

    A great new feature, and none of the potentially seedy connotations which might be attributed to “secret admirer” – mooch and smooch is very clever.

  16. Sue said

    I have tried several time to leave a smooch to several friend & I keep getting errors. Why & what am I doing wrong?

  17. […] 3rd, 2007 It’s been a little over a month since I added the “give a smooch” feature to […]

  18. […] via BookMooch. Almost immediately after signing up with BookMooch, he had another moocher “smooch” him and declare they’d smooch anyone who sent them a book with a purchased Eco-Libris […]

  19. lenie said

    When I smooch anonymously any member who has been very nice to me (thinking I can give them a point), why can’t I give them any point?

Leave a comment